top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJoanne Hickling

The Importance of Working For A Boss That Believes In You!

Were you aware that according to research a lot of employees don't actually leave their jobs because they are wanting a higher salary elsewhere? They actually leave because they feel undervalued, underappreciated, and under challenged.


I wanted to write to you today to give you some insight from personal experience on why I think it's absolutely CRUCIAL that you work for a boss that believes in you.


I have been really lucky in my current role, and indeed, in a previous role in that I have had that support behind me. I started my current job in November 2018. It became obvious that the role I applied for, which was PA, was FAR more than that. So within 1 week, I took the decision to adopt the title of PA and Business Manager, which is the job I am still doing today.

I did that because it became clear that my boss wanted me to be so much more than a PA, not only to help him and the company be totally turbocharged, but to help ME, both personally and professionally.


It is 100% clear that my boss is my No#1 cheerleader!


And that is totally awesome to have that incredible support mechanism behind me, because it makes our working relationship amazing. It also ensures that I am constantly pushing myself further and further out of my comfort zone to deliver, and will always go above and beyond the remit of my role. At first that was a really, really scary thought which really fazed me and I remember thinking "Argh!! What have I done by badging myself as a Business Manager?!" However, it is now absolutely obvious that that was the right thing to do. It's given me so much more confidence in not only my own abilities and self, but being able to communicate a lot more effectively and with conviction. It's given me the tools to be successful.


That's not saying I'm perfect, I'm know I have got a lot more to do to be where I want to be. My boss keeps telling me he sees where I should be when it comes to my career progression, and he sees me probably changing into a completely different role. He's not telling me what that is, because he thinks I need to find out for myself in order for it to be a "bling" lightbulb moment. It all sounds very cryptic, so who knows?! But I believe with that support behind me, and him making me believe in myself, I will get there.


I've always had this desire to be the best version of myself; to strive to be the best at everything I can be. Therefore I firmly believe that not only with my own boosted self confidence, but with that support, with that cheerleader of a boss behind me pushing me to be where I need to be, I can and will get to where he sees me and where I deserve to be.


I really hope that you take a little bit of time to think about the message that I'm giving you and if you are thinking of looking for another job, don't necessarily just look solely at the salary. I know there's other factors in finding the ideal job such as location, working hours, and things like that, However, make sure you work for a boss and a company that absolutely believes in you; will enable you to prove your value; will give you the appreciation you deserve; and will challenge you, because life is a challenge. Embrace it.


By Joanne Hickling (August 2019)


1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

And just like that, my life took an unexpected twist…

For those of you who have followed me on LinkedIn and/or social media for the last year, you will have seen how much of a whirlwind my work life has been, and indeed, life in general! Every single day

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page